Oh-oh, it’s Magic…you know?

Oh-oh, it’s Magic…you know?

I start this with a disclaimer for those who do not know me. I was disgnosed with Non-Hodgkins Lymphoma last year, and will have to undergo maintenance Rituxin chemotherapy every 8 weeks until the cancer finally becomes too aggressive. As well, I was born with a couple of unbelieveably rare health conditions whereby my immune system is not only deficient, but will act against itself when an infection (even from a paper cut), occurs. I have spent 23 years of monthly IV therapy treatments at the hospital. They last about four hours, and will often cause a severe reaction of unbelievable muscle pain, headache, vomiting, and general crappiness for a couple of days. It may seem a crude method, but it keeps me alive. The condition I have is now a death sentence. I merely take it as another inconvenience in my life that I have overcome. I have a beautiful wife, and a newborn daughter that make every second of my life worthwhile.  What you are about to read is not a bout with pathetic petty jealousy.

I’m not a conspiracy theorist. But I question one thing every time a basketball game comes on TV.  It involves turning on the television and watching ANYTHING that includes Earvin ‘Magic’ Johnson, I feel we have all been a part of the biggest publicity stunt in the history of publicity stunts. I finally lost it during the NCAA basketball championship a couple of years ago, when he showed up, happy as can be, that his Spartans were in the final. It is the first time my TV has been in danger without involving some stupid wager.

This guy was diagnosed with the HIV virus in 1991. That is a death sentence. But looking at him today, he’s never looked healthier. He’s the size of Charles Barkley, or a small mobile home, and seems to never have had a health problem to being with. My understanding is that the HIV virus takes a maximum of seven years to manifest into ‘full-blown’ AIDS. Obviously, something has gone awry. Or, have we been conned and now no one is mentioning it? It would appear Earvin has undergone some radical therapy that no one else has the ability to afford. Well, that… or, in my opinion, HE DID NOT HAVE IT IN THE FIRST PLACE.

I know I’m not the only one who questions this. If you type ‘Why is Magic Johnson still alive” into the Google search engine, you get over 744,000 results. These websites raise the same questions I have. They say he has had some special unaffordable treatment that the FDA doesn’t want people to know about. Now that’s a conspiracy. I’m not willing to go that far. I just think we have been a part of the biggest sports related publicity stunt/scam in history.

I think he was paid off as a pawn by the AIDS coalition to raise awareness of the disease with the premise being, “Magic Johnson can get it, you can get it too”. They thought they could use his name to raise funds, increase research, and would have this horrible disease cured by now. I don’t think Earvin is exactly the brightest spoon in the shed either. They probably told him they would have a cure in a couple of years, and he could announce he was fine. He even tried to go back to playing basketball but was forced to retire because of the other players’ concerns that he may ‘transmit’ the disease someone if he got cut during a game. However, nearly 20 years later, he’s walking around looking as healthy as the day he stopped playing.

I feel bad for the entire continent of Africa. They are going through an epidemic of AIDS and it does not look as though they can get a grip on it. Yet, over in America, this rich guy got AIDS, and is fine 20 years later. Holy snappin’ crap that would infuriate me.
Eventually, Earvin is going to have to come clean about this. Someone has to start asking questions. A blind eye has been turned here, and the media is not doing their job. Is Earvin Johson the actual real punch-line to the famous Chris rock stand-up act about AIDS?

Please understand, I don’t wish Earvin was dead! That is not the point. But he has to relent, and admit that he has been a part of one of the biggest deceptions of America, and the sporting world. Well, it’s either that, or start spreading his ‘magic’ around, so we can get everyone who has contracted AIDS, looking as good as him.

About Darin A. Ramsay

Devoted & doting husband, and loving, stay at home Dad for my super 5-year old daughter. I'm passionate about who I love, and what I write. I am an independent sports analyst/writer, as well I opine prophetic on different topics as I see fit. I am forever a proud Patriots, Avalanche, Tigers, Spurs, Miami Hurricanes football, and Arizona Wildcat basketball fan.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

