A Happy New Year’s Message…

A Happy New Year’s Message…

End of year. Time to reflect, not dwell on the past, and more importantly look ahead. And yes my people…there will be swears. There’s a lot at the end. Seriously, you’ve been warned, because I’m not censoring this, and I edited a whole bunch out already.  There’s liquid paper all over my screen.

Right now, I’m flying solo for two weeks over these holidays, due to a simply wonderful recording and performing opportunity for my incredible wife Deantha, over in Newfoundland. It does however, give one time to stop, get back to basics, strip down to almost nothing, grab a cold, frosty one, watch the games, listen to, and play some blisteringly loud music, block out the calamity of this world…and just think about shit.

Honestly, this has not been an easy year for us.  As you know, I’ve been in hospital for extended periods of time on multiple occasions.  This goes along with a ridiculous increase in treatment frequency.  But we have so much to be thankful for:

Most importantly, my girls are both healthy.  Annabelle continues to grow and amaze us daily.  She’s going to blow this world away with her gifts, and we’re letting her damn it.  I’m making a point to encourage every aspect of it.  Don’t get me wrong, she will have her parent-set limitations. But she’s going to grow into someone special, and she’s going to be find out who she is, and will be her own person. Just sit and watch the future explosion because you’re going to love it. She woke up singing Russian opera songs the other day. Yeah…she’s four.  Buckle up.

The love of my life continues to be just that.  Knowing each day that I get to wake up next to my biggest supporter, my greatest critic, my lover, the one that got away once and never will again, and my best friend forever is the greatest knowledge a person can have.  I love you with every ounce of my being, Deantha.  Always have.  Always will. ‘Nuff said.

We managed to find a new house, twice as big (or more) as the other one, with exactly the space we require for separating personal and work lives. Deantha gets “her” separate lower level music studio, and I get a life free of extra kids running through the house and doorbells ringing as I’m trying to cook supper, or passed out on the couch from my treatments.  We got a new vehicle a short while ago because the dealership decided it was better to give us a better monthly deal on that, than have me drop 700 dollars on tires.  I whole-heartedly agreed.

As always, I’ve had the incredible love and support of my family. I have made a life out of making some incredibly questionable decisions.  They have always been there to help pick up the pieces.  If you have this happening in your life, then just stop reading for a moment. Call them. Tell them you love them. Thank them. This piece isn’t going anywhere.

News-wise, I’ve almost stopped watching CNN and CBC News entirely. I try to keep my opinions on world affairs to myself now.  They’re my opinions, and you do hear/read them when the time is right. But for now (in brief)…

We’re slowly watching this world crumble on a daily basis. Our local world was stunned, shocked, and horrified by the tragic events in Moncton. Nationally, some fucking idiot takes out one of our best, who was performing one of the most solemn, respectful, and honourable duties a soldier can have, standing guard at the Unknown Soldier Memorial. Continentally, we’re about to have a complete re-do on race relations. It’s not going to involve “non-violence” either.  I have the odd feeling it’s going to get really ugly, and really soon.  Across the ocean, we have too many people fighting too many other people’s wars.  ENOUGH ALREADY. Let them all figure it out themselves. Come home boys and girls  We need you here. Your families need you here.

This year I have made a couple of plans and possible projects to work on. This writing will continue and hopefully expand, beyond anything I could have imagined possible. I will keep you informed.  It has become something that I didn’t really know I could do.  Then one night, I got pissed off at the beginning of a stupid Leaf’s game (redundancy) on a Saturday night.  I sat down and wrote an article on pointless celebrations of  half-assed former players (aka Luke Richardson). I’ve re-read it many times since. It still amazes me the power of words. The old saying is true, the pen is mightier than the sword.  Well, except if the other guy gets to the sword and stabs you before you get to your pen.  Then it’s pretty much game over.  But I digress… If you can find an electronic “paper trail” of something being wrong or corrupt, oh baby…there’s some hell ahead because you have documentary proof in hand. 

The year ahead will of course bring its challenges. There will be injury, illness, and death as always.  Businesses will fail, economics will be troubled, and people will be out of work.  Relationships will be strained to the point of breaking, or unfortunately snap completely.

So in 2015, I want you to take your happy moments, and try to pin them up on the cork board in the house, and especially in your mind.  If you’re having a bad day you can always look back and say, “Wow, I did that too!”   Sure, you might be criticized for your decisions or some actions through the year.  But, there are critics of us all. Fuck them.  Look up to your heroes, but do NOT be intimidated by them. Be INSPIRED by them. Remember those posters on your wall as a kid?  Don’t look at that wall and think, “Fuck, I could NEVER do that.” Look at that poster on the wall and say, “Fuck, I’m gonna do THAT”. And then you DO IT. You can still be what you want to be. Who you always thought you’d be. It’s a brand new world for us all now. Get out there. Remember your inspirations. Better them.

Oh, and Happy New Years kids. Let’s do this!

– The Sugar

About Darin A. Ramsay

Devoted & doting husband, and loving, stay at home Dad for my super 5-year old daughter. I'm passionate about who I love, and what I write. I am an independent sports analyst/writer, as well I opine prophetic on different topics as I see fit. I am forever a proud Patriots, Avalanche, Tigers, Spurs, Miami Hurricanes football, and Arizona Wildcat basketball fan.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

