Somebody get the door…1993 just knocked

October 8 at 2:28pm ·

Somebody get the door…1993 just knocked. And call the cops. I think I see Fergie Oliver behind the bushes….

Anybody else been thinking about where they were back in October 1993 over the past couple of days? Sounds weird…but I’m exactly where I thought I might be. Well not so much the location, but as for the person I was supposed to be with. Imagine being with the person you’re supposed to be with forever, but being too young and stupid to really capitalize on it. Then spend 17 years apart, re-connect, and realize how lucky you are 5 years, and one incredible 4-yr old daughter later.

I remember Joe “touching ’em all” off the “Wild Thing” Mitch Williams. I watched it during my second year there at The Axe with a rowdy crew of friends and Axemen hockey team members. The Axe then inexplicably said they were closing for the night. Closing???? It was a Saturday night!!!! I remember thinking that was possibly the most irresponsible thing anyone who ran a bar in Canada could do at that moment. So I yelled at the top of my lungs for all to hear: WE’RE GOING TO THE ANVIL!!!!!

I’ll channel the “Golden Girls” Estelle Petrillo here:
Picture it…Wolfville, 1993. I, blue bandana, jeans, white t-shirt, cowboy boots and all, led a huge parade of staggering students with open alcohol (i have no idea where I got those beer, but I suspect the barkeep at The Axe slipped a couple in my hands because they were capped, for good tips and doing the right thing by keeping the celebration going), down Highland Avenue as people honked their car horns in celebration, knowing exactly why we were doing this. They hooted and hollered back with us, celebrating the back-to-back Canadian victory in the Great American Pastime The ever-gracious Wolfville town cops knew me from my time working at Tim Horton’s and a few other notable exceptions, so they just shook their heads, then gave me that look of, “Just keep it relatively sane outdoors”, and watched us party our way down Main Street. I think if it had been anyone but a “local” leading the charge, it would have been reversed. However, absolutely no one caused a problem and we made it safe and sound to a totally “packed to the rafters, WAY over fire legal” Anvil. God Bless Joe Rafih and his complete disregard for human safety. But he knew how and when to make a buck.

Fast Forward 22 years and lots has changed. A couple of years ago I switched my baseball allegiance from the stupid Mets who continually let me down, to the Detroit Tigers. Now the Tigers suck and the Mets made the playoffs. Always remember that with me, opposite is better. Especially with Pro-Line. True story: this baseball season I bought a ticket and took every single visiting team, making an adjustment in the wager that guaranteed me a win of SOME form if even one or two teams I picked won. That night, for the FIRST TIME IN MLB HISTORY….every single home team won. Once, during football season last year, i bought two tickets with exact opposites. The website broke. I’m serious. This stuff is no longer co-incidence. It’s personal.

So today, for the first time since that alcohol/victory fuelled parade, we get to see playoff baseball in this great country again. I know I’ve been thinking about how fortunate I am to be with Deantha Edmunds-Ramsayagain. That part sure as hell isn’t by chance. She’s been with me in mind and spirit since Acadia. I woke up through this friggin’ massive migraine that annihilated me last night and welled up with tears as I could hear her and Annabelle downstairs playing and watching TV. Then I had to phone her from cell to get her assistance. This 27 year old headache is stupid. I’m typing this with my left eye closed, and hoping that through the double vision in my right eye, I spell everything right. Now then:

I don’t care if you love the Red Sox, Tigers, Expos (yes I said it), stupid effing Yankees, or any other team that didn’t make the playoffs, it is your national duty, nay obligation as a sports fan or just as a Canadian to cheer for the Blue Jays. If you’re a fan of the Cubs, Cardinals, Mets, Dodgers, Astros, Rangers, or Royals then you’re off the hook until they’re eliminated, and if the Jays are still playing. But once your team is gone, the only option is Toronto.

Listen….i hate starting a sentence with that word….I’m not jumping on a bandwagon here and I’m not going be a permanent fan. I will go back to criticizing everything they do as soon as spring training starts next year. I hate Toronto and every sports thing associated with it.

Even though Rogers Sportsnet has the NHL season as a 365 day event, it only just started. The US and ESPN have the NFL held in the same stature. The NBA has not even started, and only Stephen A. Smith wants the attention so far. Lord knows the Leafs won’t win anything for the next 50+ years during this rebuild, there shouldn’t even BE a CFL, the Raptors are a great regular season story and super playoff choke artists, and TFC is still a Canadian team, playing in the MLS, which is soccer, which really means absolutely nada.
So as the team has been propagandizing for the past month Canada, it’s been 22 years. Let’s all try to be part of something positive in the midst of the trivial banality of political campaigns. It is time. Let’s‪#‎COMETOGETHER‬.
HOW ABOUT THEM BLUE JAYS!!!!!!!

About Darin A. Ramsay

Devoted & doting husband, and loving, stay at home Dad for my super 5-year old daughter. I'm passionate about who I love, and what I write. I am an independent sports analyst/writer, as well I opine prophetic on different topics as I see fit. I am forever a proud Patriots, Avalanche, Tigers, Spurs, Miami Hurricanes football, and Arizona Wildcat basketball fan.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

